Athletics News

DePaul Announces 2010 Hall of Fame Class
CHICAGO - The DePaul Athletics Department is set to induct six former student-athletes, the 1967 tennis team and reward a former university employee with a special service award during the annual DePaul Athletics Hall of Fame induction weekend Jan. 30-31. In addition to the 1967 tennis team, the 2010 Hall of Fame Class includes track and field's Dave Dopek, women's basketball's Melanee Ehrhardt, volleyball's Wendy Fahlstrom Hall, men's basketball's Tom Kleinschmidt, softball's Missy Nowak Staser and former baseball player Joe Wilhoit. Former athletics director administrative assistant Mary Hie will also be honored with the Dr. Robert Hamilton Special Service Award.

1967 Tennis Team - VIDEO - CLICK HERE
Coached by Jim Seri, the Blue Demons finished the season with a 22-3 record and qualified for the NCAA Championship Regionals. Members of the team include Ray Bachman, Ray Cahnman, Terry Garvey, George Hahn, Allen Kiel, Nat King, Mel Searles and Steve Williams. In addition to the NCAA appearance, DePaul also claimed the Chicagoland Championship.

Dave Dopek | Men's Track and Field (1991-95) - CLICK HERE
Dopek is DePaul's only NCAA Championship winner as the 1995 NCAA Indoor Champion in the 200 meters. The two-time All-American was also a runner-up in the 200 meters at the 1995 NCAA Outdoor Championships. He was named the Great Midwest Conference Athlete of the Year in 1995 and compiled 10 Great Midwest Conference titles from 1992-95. Dopek still holds the indoor and outdoor records at DePaul in both the 200 and 400-meter events and is a member of the record-holder 4x100-meter relay team. He is currently in his 15th season as an assistant track and field coach at his alma mater working with DePaul's sprinters, hurdlers and jumpers.

Melanee Ehrhardt | Women's Basketball (1986-90) - CLICK HERE
Ehrhardt finished her four-year career with 1,552 points, 614 field goals, 216 steals and 144 three-pointers. She's ranked in the top 15 in program in each of those categories while also playing a key role on DePaul's first NCAA Championship team in 1990. Ehrhardt scored 23 points in DePaul's first-round win over Western Kentucky in the NCAA first round. She totaled 125 career games for seventh in program history and was a three-time All-North Star Conference honoree.

Wendy Fahlstrom Hall | Volleyball (1990-1993) - CLICK HERE
Fahlstrom led DePaul to its first NCAA Championship appearance in 1993 after earning Great Midwest Conference Player of the Year and Tournament MVP honors. She is ranked among the program's top five in service aces, attempts, kills and digs while being named to the Great Midwest Conference All-Tournament team three times.

Tom Kleinschmidt | Men's Basketball (1991-1995) - VIDEO - CLICK HERE
Kleinschmidt was the first player to earn conference player of the year honors when he was named by the Great Midwest Conference in 1995. He is the first player in school history to finish his career with at least 1,000 points, 500 rebounds, 300 assists, 100 steals and 100 three-pointers. Kleinschmidt finished his career ranked in DePaul's top 10 in career points, field goals, free throws, three-point field goals, assists and steals. He led the Blue Demons to a 1992 NCAA Championship appearance and two NIT berths while earning honorable mention All-American honors in 1995. Kleinschmidt scored at least 30 points in eight games including a career-high 37 against UAB as a junior.

Missy Nowak Staser | Softball (1992-95)
Nowak is the first softball student-athlete to earn All-American honors as a first team selection in 1995 and a second team honoree in 1994. She graduated as DePaul's all-time leader in nine statistical categories including runs, home runs, hits, triples, total bases, walks and RBI. Currently, she is still ranked among the program's top five in runs scored, RBI, hits, doubles, triples, home runs, total bases, walks, games played and batting average. Her 59 runs batted in during the 1993 season is still a DePaul season record as is the .552 on-base percentage in 1995. Nowak was a three-time first team All-Midwest Region honoree, Mid-Continent Conference Player of the Year, first team All-Conference winner.

Joe Wilhoit | Baseball (1915) - VIDEO- CLICK HERE
Wilhoit holds the distinction of holding the record for the longest hitting streak in professional baseball. He put together a 69-game hitting streak while playing for the Wichita Jobbers of the Western League from June 14-August 19, 1919. He is the only Blue Demon to appear in the World Series. Wilhoit appeared in games two and six of the 1917 World Series while playing for the New York Giants. After playing at DePaul, Wilhoit played in the Major Leagues for the Boston Braves (1916-17), Pittsburgh Pirates (1917), New York Giants (1917-18) and Boston Red Sox (1919). With the Red Sox, he played alongside Babe Ruth.

Mary Hie | Dr. Robert Hamilton Special Service Award
Hie receives the Dr. Robert Hamilton Special Service Award after serving as an administrative assistant in the DePaul athletics department for 25 years. She aided DePaul athletics directors, staff, student-athletes, parents, alums and fans of DePaul on a daily basis throughout her tenure.

The Hall of Fame class will be introduced at halftime of each DePaul basketball game over the weekend of Jan. 30-31. The men's team hosts Syracuse at 1 p.m. at Allstate Arena followed by a 3 p.m. women's game on Sunday against Marquette at McGrath Arena. The banquet takes place on Saturday evening at McGrath Arena at 6 p.m. For more information and ticket reservations, contact Katie Ramsey in the DePaul athletics department at (773) 325-7504.

2010 Hall of Fame Weekend

Saturday, Jan. 30
11:30 a.m. - Alumni Pre-Game Party in the Allstate Arena Skyline Room
1 p.m. - Men's Basketball vs. Syracuse at Allstate Arena (inductees will be recognized at halftime)
6 p.m. - Hall of Fame Banquet Induction Ceremony at Sullivan Athletic Center
6 p.m. - Social Hour 
6:30 p.m. - Buffet Opens 
7 p.m. - Program

Sunday, Jan. 31
1 p.m. - Hall of Fame Memorial Service at Cortelyou Commons
2 p.m. - Pre-Game Rec eption at Cortelyou Commons
3 p.m. - Women's Basketball vs. Marquette at McGrath Arena (inductees will be recognized at halftime)



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago



» «