Athletics News

DePaul Selected to Host 2019 Women's Basketball Regional at Wintrust Arena
April 18, 2017

CHICAGO – The NCAA announced today that Wintrust Arena is one of the four sites to host a regional in the 2019 NCAA Women’s Basketball Championship. The NCAA awarded seven cities Division I Women’s Basketball Championship hosting duties for regional play in 2019 and 2020, with five of the seven arenas hosting the championship for the first time.

The dates for the Sweet 16 and Elite 8 games are March 29-April 1, 2019 with DePaul serving as the host institution.

Selected to host regionals in 2019 are Albany, N.Y. (Times Union Center), Chicago (Wintrust Arena), Greensboro, N.C. (Greensboro Coliseum), and Portland, Ore. (Moda Center). Albany, which will also serve as a regional host site in 2018, will be hosting for the third time, while Greensboro will be hosting its fifth regional.  Wintrust Arena, as well as the Moda Center will be hosting the NCAA Division Women’s Basketball Championship games for the first time.

DePaul has previously hosted NCAA Women’s Basketball Championship events at Alumni Hall and Allstate Arena. The Blue Demons hosted NCAA games at Alumni Hall in 1990 and 1992 before hosting the Mideast Regional in 1996 and the First and Second Rounds in 2006 and 2012 at Allstate Arena.

In 2020, Fort Wayne, Ind. (Allen County War Memorial Coliseum), Greenville, S.C. (Bon Secours Wellness Arena), Portland (Moda Center) and Dallas, Texas (Moody Coliseum) will serve as the four regional sites, March 27-30. Bon Secours Wellness Arena, Allen County War Memorial Coliseum and Moody Coliseum will be first time hosts. Portland and the Moda Center will be hosting for a second straight year.
This is the second time for this specific NCAA championship bid process, which created the largest host site announcement ever, spanning 84 championships across as much as a four-year cycle.  Previously, selection announcements varied by sport. The process now gives the NCAA and host sites more time to plan the championship experience.

Bidding for 84 of the 90 NCAA championships began in July and more than 3,000 bid applications were ultimately submitted. Each sport committee, per division, selected the host sites it believed would provide the ultimate experience for the respective student-athletes, resulting in more than 500 total championship event sites being awarded. More than 54,000 student-athletes compete in NCAA championships each year. The six championships not included in the process due to preexisting site arrangements are: Division I baseball, Division I football, Division I softball, Division I Men’s and Women’s Outdoor Track and Field and Division III women’s ice hockey.

About the NCAA
The NCAA is a diverse association of more than 1,100 member colleges and universities that prioritize academics, well-being and fairness to create greater opportunities for nearly half a million student-athletes each year.  The NCAA provides a pathway to higher education and beyond for student-athletes pursuing academic goals and competing in NCAA sports.  For more information on all of the NCAA championship sites awarded, log on to



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago



» «