Athletics News

Six DePaul Programs Recognized with NCAA Public Recognition Awards

May 7, 2014

CHICAGO – Six DePaul programs were recognized with Public Recognition Awards from the NCAA for having multi-year Academic Performance Rate (APR) scores in the top 10 percent of all squads in their respective sports. Women's basketball, men’s cross country, men’s golf, men’s soccer, women’s soccer and women’s tennis were all recognized by the NCAA.

The APR measures eligibility, graduation and retention each semester or quarter and provides a clear picture of the academic performance for each team in each sport. The most recent APRs are multi-year rates based on scores from the 2009-10, 2010-11, 2011-2012 and 2012-13 academic years.

DePaul's total of six teams honored tied Connecticut for the fourth-highest total among all BIG EAST Conference* schools. Women's basketball and women's tennis picked up the recognition for the ninth straight year while the golf team was honored for the eighth time in nine years. DePaul’s highest total was seven teams in 2010-11 and 2011-12 after having six teams earn the honor in 2004-05 and 2009-10.

The women’s basketball and women’s tennis programs are two of just 146 teams nationally to earn the honor every year.

The 1,049 teams publicly recognized for high achievement represent 631 women’s teams and 418 men’s or mixed squads. In 2013, 976 teams were recognized. The scores required to be in the top ten ranged from 980 to a perfect 1,000, depending on the sport, with the majority of top 10 teams earning a perfect APR.

The BIG EAST Conference* produced 76 teams led by Notre Dame with 14 programs and Georgetown with 13 teams honored. Villanova totaled eight teams and DePaul’s six teams matched Connecticut for the fourth-highest total.

APRs for all Division I teams will be released May 14. The APR is an annual scorecard of academic achievement calculated for all Division I sports teams nationally. Teams must meet a certain academic threshold to qualify for the postseason, and they also can face penalties for continued low academic performance.

*2012-13 BIG EAST membership: Cincinnati, Connecticut, DePaul, Georgetown, Louisville, Marquette, Notre Dame, Pittsburgh, Providence, Rutgers, St. John’s, Seton Hall, USF, Syracuse, Villanova



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago



» «