Athletics News

It's Official: DePaul To Join BIG EAST Conference

DePaul press conference transcript from Jean Lenti Ponsetto 

BIG EAST press confernce transcript from Michael Tranghese (Commissioner, The BIG EAST Conference), John Paquette (Associate Commissioner, The BIG EAST Conference), Rev. Edmund J. Dobbin, O.S.A. (President, Villanova University) and Mark Nordenberg (Chancellor, University of Pittsburgh)

NEW YORK – The BIG EAST Conference announced that five institutions have accepted invitations for membership into the league.  Those schools are: University of Cincinnati, DePaul University, University of Louisville, Marquette University, and the University of South Florida.  The additions were authorized by a vote of the league’s Presidents.

“DePaul has capitalized on an extraordinary opportunity to join the BIG EAST and we look forward to the rivalries we will develop in this new league,” said the Rev. John P. Minogue, C.M., president of DePaul. “I have great respect for the leadership and the universities in Conference USA. We have made many good friends there, and we wish the conference well as it pursues its own destiny.”

“I am excited for student-athletes, coaches, alumni and fans,” said Jean Lenti Ponsetto, DePaul’s Director of Athletics.  “This invitation to the BIG EAST allows us to renew rivalries with some old friends and positions DePaul to compete against institutions who share similar philosophies both academically and athletically.”

All five universities, which currently compete in Conference USA, will begin BIG EAST Conference play in the 2005-06 academic year.

“This is a very exciting day in the history of the BIG EAST,” said Commissioner Michael Tranghese.  “We are thrilled to be joined by five great institutions, all of whom exemplify the characteristics of sportsmanship and scholarship that are central to the BIG EAST tradition.  We look forward to the added enthusiasm and vigorous competition our new members will bring to our men’s and women’s sports and to the expanded reach into even more of the nation’s top media markets our conference will achieve under our new structure.”

“The addition of five highly-competitive institutions today ensures that the BIG EAST will remain one of the nation’s premier athletic conferences,” said Rev. Edmund J. Dobbin, OSA, President of Villanova University and Chair of the BIG EAST Presidents.  “The extraordinary spirit of cooperation that existed among our membership during the past few months enabled us to work quickly and efficiently to enhance our future.”

“For the past several months, everyone connected with the BIG EAST has worked creatively and cooperatively to build an even stronger conference,” said Mark Nordenberg, Chancellor of the University of Pittsburgh and incoming Chair of the league’s Presidents.  “Great credit is due the professional staff of the conference and our athletic directors, as well as the Presidents and Chancellors who have been actively involved in the restructuring process.  We are excited about our new members, the markets we serve, our expanded geographic reach, the high levels of performance we will bring to every sport, and the opportunities we will continue to provide our student-athletes.”

The University of Cincinnati, with an enrollment of 34,000, sponsors 18 sports.  The Bearcats were one of only three schools nationally in 2002-03 to send its football, men’s basketball, women’s basketball and women’s volleyball teams to postseason play.

DePaul University, with an enrollment of 23,600, sponsors 15 sports.  DePaul has sent its softball team to seven straight NCAA Tournaments.

The University of Louisville, with an enrollment of 21,089, sponsors 21 sports.  The Cardinals have appeared in five straight football bowl games.

The Marquette University men’s basketball team advanced to the NCAA Final Four this past March.  The school, which has an enrollment of 11,000, sponsors 14 sports.

The University of South Florida, with an enrollment of 39,262, has sent more teams to NCAA postseason play than any current member of Conference USA.  USF sponsors 18 sports.

The BIG EAST Conference, with its headquarters in Providence, R.I., is celebrating its 25th anniversary in 2003-04.  The league takes pride in its long list of accomplishments.  Providing opportunities to excel amongst the nation’s best, both athletically and academically, has always been its mission.

Since opening its doors in 1979, the league has won 22 national championships in six different sports and 118 student-athletes have won individual national titles.  More than 300 student-athletes have earned Academic All-America honors.

In 2002-03, Syracuse University won the men’s basketball title and the University of Connecticut won its second straight women’s basketball crown.

In 2005-06, The BIG EAST Conference will include: University of Cincinnati, University of Connecticut, DePaul University, Georgetown University, University of Louisville, Marquette University, University of Notre Dame, University of Pittsburgh, Providence College, Rutgers University, St. John’s University, Seton Hall University, University of South Florida, Syracuse University, Villanova University, West Virginia University.



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago



» «