Coleman Selected by Chicago Sky in WNBA Draft
April 13, 2018

CHICAGO­­­­ -The DePaul connection on the Chicago Sky women’s pro basketball team got a lot stronger after Thursday night’s WNBA Draft.

Blue Demon senior Amarah Coleman was selected by the Sky with the fourth pick of the third round, the No. 28 pick overall. The WNBA Draft 2018 presented by State Farm was held at the Nike New York Headquarters.

The athletic 5-foot, 11-inch guard joins former DePaul stars Allie Quigley and Keisha Hampton and will be right at home playing her home games at Wintrust Arena, the Sky’s new home court this season.

Coleman joins a team that is definitely trending upward. With the third pick of the first round, the Sky selected the first of Coleman’s new teammates Diamond DeShields, a former Tennessee standout guard who played professionally in Turkey last season.

With the fourth overall pick, the Sky drafted one of the most talented collegians in the nation, Connecticut forward Gabby Williams.

Coleman continues a recent trend of Blue Demons being selected on Draft day. Last year, Jessica January was taken in the third round by the Connecticut Sun. In 2015, Brittany Hrynko was chosen by Connecticut in the second round and then traded to the Atlanta Dream.

Coleman played her best basketball when it counted most. She helped lead the Blue Demons to a fifth consecutive BIG EAST regular-season title and scored a career-high 27 points in a 98-63 triumph over Marquette for the BIG EAST Tournament championship and automatic NCAA Tournament berth. She was named the BIG EAST Tournament Most Outstanding Player.

Another memorable moment from her senior season was improvising on a play with three seconds left and swishing a game-winning, buzzer-beating three-point shot to knock off No. 21/21 Oklahoma 111-108 in a game that had many at McGrath-Phillips Arena hailing it as the most exciting they had ever seen.



She wound up being the only BIG EAST player selected in Thursday night’s WNBA Draft.

The Las Vegas Aces made South Carolina’s National Player of the Year A’ja Wilson was the No. 1 overall pick. Ohio State’s Kelsey Mitchell was taken second by the Indiana Fever. UCLA’s Jordin Canada rounded out the top five picks, going to the Seattle Storm.