The Official Website of DePaul University Athletics
BIG EAST Conference Announces Men's Basketball Opponents For 2005-06

2005-06 BIG EAST Conference Composite Opponents

PROVIDENCE, R.I. – The BIG EAST Conference has completed the home/away opponents for the 2005-06 men’s basketball season it was announced by the league office today.

On July 1, the BIG EAST Conference became a 16-team league with the additions of Cincinnati, DePaul, Louisville, Marquette and USF. The five former Conference USA schools joined BIG EAST mainstays Connecticut, Georgetown, Notre Dame, Pittsburgh, Providence, Rutgers, St. John’s, Seton Hall, Syracuse, Villanova and West Virginia.


The format for league play in 2005-06 will be a 16-game schedule with each school playing eight home and eight away games. Each team will play three opponents twice and subsequently will not face two league members.


In 2005-06, DePaul will face Marquette, Notre Dame and Providence twice each while the Blue Demons will not meet Connecticut or West Virginia.


Along with the three home-and-home opponents, DePaul will entertain Georgetown, Rutgers, Seton Hall, Syracuse and Villanova at the Allstate Arena.


The Blue Demons will also travel to Cincinnati, Louisville, Pittsburgh, St. John’s and USF.


The annual BIG EAST Conference Tournament, which will feature the top 12 teams in the regular season standings, will be held March 8-11 at Madison Square Garden in New York.


Game dates, times and broadcast information for the regular season conference contests will be announced later in the summer.


2005-06 DePaul BIG EAST Conference Opponents

Home Games



Notre Dame



Seton Hall




Road Games




Notre Dame



St. John’s



No Plays


West Virginia