Nedow and Westley Named Winners of 2011-12 BIG EAST Scholar-Athlete Sport Excellence Awards
Tim Nedow (pictured) and Ben Westley from men's golf were both honored with the BIG EAST Scholar-Athlete Sport Excellence Award.

June 22, 2012

Complete List of Winners

PROVIDENCE, R.I. – The BIG EAST Conference has announced the 24 winners of the 2011-12 BIG EAST Scholar-Athlete Sport Excellence Awards, which recognize academic and athletic achievement as well as community service. DePaul’s Tim Nedow and golf’s Ben Westley were each honored for their accomplishments.
The Scholar-Athlete Sport Excellence Awards are given to one student-athlete in each BIG EAST-sponsored sport based on academic credentials, athletic accolades or performances and volunteer service to the community. Student-athletes who have attained junior academic standing and a minimum cumulative grade-point average of 3.00 are eligible. The winners are chosen by the BIG EAST Faculty Athletics Representative Council.
The winners include two student-athletes, including Nedow, who were chosen to the Capital One Academic All-America teams during the 2011-12 season. Villanova’s Sheila Reid, who repeated as the NCAA individual champion in women’s cross country, and Cincinnati’s Eric Finan, who was the BIG EAST individual champion in men’s cross country.
The list also includes nine student-athletes who were either chosen as BIG EAST Players of the Year or earned the top individual honors as their respective conference championships in 2011-12.



Buy Tickets



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago



» «