Filip Dzanko Named to Second Straight All-BIG EAST Team
Junior Filip Dzanko was named to a second straight All-BIG EAST roster on Thursday.

April 25, 2013

BIG EAST Release

PROVIDENCE, R.I. - After another standout season at first singles, DePaul men's tennis junior Filip Dzanko was named to the 2013 All-BIG EAST Men's Tennis Team on the strength of a unanimous vote by the conference's coaches, the league announced on Thursday.

It was the second straight BIG EAST accolade for the Split, Croatia-native and the fifth straight year at least one men's tennis student-athlete received the BIG EAST recognition.

For Dzanko, the accolade comes after closing out the season with a 17-13 overall record and an 11-8 mark in dual matches. All of his wins came against DePaul's strongest competition, as he manned the number one spot in the lineup throughout the season and finished in a flourish with seven wins in his past 10 matches.

Dzanko also put together a 2-1 record against ITA-ranked opposition, beating then-No. 103 Samir Iftikhar of New Mexico on March 8 and No. 69 Sebastian Stiefelmeyer of Louisville on April 19 at the BIG EAST Championships.

The senior-to-be owns a team-leading 61-30 career record and a 25-13 mark at the top spot in the order. Also a strong player in doubles, Dzanko has a 43-38 career record in pairs play.

The Blue Demons wrapped up their season this past weekend at the BIG EAST Championships in South Bend, Ind. Seeded seventh overall, DePaul nearly upset the tournament runner-up, Louisville, on its way to a sixth-place finish at the event.

Filip Dzanko, Jr., DePaul *
Charlie Caris, Sr., Georgetown
Sebastian Stiefelmeyer, So., Louisville *
Albert Wagner, So., Louisville
Dan Mamalat, Jr., Marquette
Greg Andrews, Jr., Notre Dame *
Quentin Monaghan, Fr., Notre Dame *
Blas Moros, Sr., Notre Dame
Billy Pecor, So., Notre Dame
Vasko Mladenov, Jr., St. John’s *
Oliver Pramming, So., USF
Ignacio Gonzalez-Muniz, Fr., USF
Thomas O’Brien, Jr., Villanova



Player of the Year
Greg Andrews, Jr., Notre Dame *

Freshman of the Year
Quentin Monaghan, Fr., Notre Dame *

Coach of the Year
Bobby Bayliss, Notre Dame *

*unanimous selection

Buy Tickets
» «