January Voted CoSIDA Academic All-America First Team
March 2, 2017

AUSTIN, Texas -- University of Iowa senior guard Ally Disterhoft highlights the 2016-17 Academic All-America® Division I women’s basketball team, and Disterhoft has been named the 2016-17 CoSIDA Academic All-America® of the Year for Division I women’s basketball.

Joining Disterhoft on the first team as a returning CoSIDA Academic All-America® selection is DePaul senior Jessica January, a third-team selection last year. January is the BIG EAST Conference Preseason Player of the Year and has won the BIG EAST Player of the Week award three times despite missing two months of the season with an injury. She is one of only two players in the conference to record a triple-double this season.

The Blue Demon Public Relations & Advertising and Communication & Media double major carries a 3.96 GPA and will graduate cumma sum laude in June. Academically throughout eight years of high school and college, this exemplary student-athlete has recorded all A’s and just one B. She is the only Academic All-America selection from the BIG EAST and will lead top-seeded DePaul into this weekend’s conference tournament in Milwaukee.

Disterhoft is only the fifth scholar-athlete to win the Academic All-America® of the Year for women’s basketball in back-to-back years. She joins Elena Delle Donne of Delaware (2012-13, 2011-12), Maya Moore of Connecticut (2010-11, 2009-10), Karen Jennings of Nebraska (1992-93, 1991-92) and Michelle Flamoe of Oregon State (1988-89, 1987-88) as the only scholar-athletes to be named as Women’s Basketball Division I Academic All-America® of the Year in consecutive seasons.

The three-time CoSIDA Academic All-America® selection, Disterhoft was also a third-team honoree in 2014-15. A native of Iowa City, Iowa, she owns a 4.03 GPA while studying accounting and finance. The three-time All-Big Ten selection was a first team pick this season after being named to the second team in each of the last two seasons.



This season, Disterhoft became the second Hawkeye in school history to surpass 2,000 career points. She is second on Iowa’s team averaging 16.6 points, 5.5 rebounds and 0.86 steals per game. She also averages 2.5 assists a game, third best by a Hawkeye. Disterhoft is shooting 51.2 percent from the field and 35.0 percent from 3-point range in 32.7 minutes per game. She is also a two-time Big Ten Distinguished Scholar, Academic All-Big Ten, and WBCA Allstate Good Works® Team honoree.

Eight of the 15 members of the 2016-17 CoSIDA Academic All-America® Division I women’s basketball teams have at least a 3.90 GPA, with four student-athletes sporting a perfect 4.0 GPA, two of which achieve over a 4.0. The five members of the first team have an average GPA of 3.93.

Among the other first team selections, University of New Mexico junior Cherise Beynon also maintains an above perfect GPA at 4.07. The remaining first team selections are senior Beatrice Attura from Northwestern State University and Duke University junior Lexie Brown.

The CoSIDA Academic All-America® second team features two student-athletes with perfect 4.0 GPAs, a pair of teammates and a repeat Academic All-America® selection. Senior Rene Coggins from Northern Arizona University maintains a 4.0 GPA and was a third team pick a year ago. Junior Jordan Korinek from Kent State University also maintains a 4.0 GPA and is joined on the second team by her teammate senior Larissa Lurken.  The two final second team honorees are Stanford University senior Erica McCall and Oklahoma State University junior Kaylee Jensen.

University of Maine senior Sigi Koizar headlines the third team as she earns consecutive Academic All-America® honors after a second team selection in 2015-16. Other third team selections are: senior Sydney Wiese from Oregon State University, Indiana University junior Amanda Cahill, University of Connecticut junior Kia Nurse and junior Carlie Wagner from the University of Minnesota.

2016-17 Academic All-America Women’s Basketball Team
First Team
Beatrice Attura, Northwestern State
Cherise Beynon, New Mexico
Lexie Brown, Duke
Ally Disterhoft, Iowa
Jessica January, DePaul

Second Team
Rene Coggins, Northern Arizona
Kaylee Jensen, Oklahoma State
Jordan Korinek, Kent State
Larissa Lurken, Kent State
Erica McCall, Stanford

Third Team
Amanda Cahill, Indiana
Sigi Koizar, Maine
Kia Nurse, Connecticut
Carlie Wagner, Minnesota
Sydney Wiese, Oregon State

Buy Tickets



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago



» «