Schulte Named AP Honorable Mention All-American
March 27, 2017

CHICAGO – After spending much of her career as an unselfish and invaluable role player, Brooke Schulte is finishing up her DePaul career in spectacular fashion.

On Monday, the senior guard from Germantown, Ill. was named an Associated Press Honorable Mention All-American in recognition of a break-out year.

When injuries sideline three Blue Demon starters this season including BIG EAST Preseason Player of the Year Jessica January, Schulte picked up the slack by evolving into a genuine go-to threat behind a deadly fade-away jumper that connected with machine-like efficiency.

She led all scorers in BIG EAST Conference play averaging nearly 21 points a game after scoring 8.8 points per game in conference last season. Schulte was honored as the BIG EAST Player of the Year this season and also voted Most Improved Player by the league’s coaches. The All-BIG EAST First Team selection was also named the BIG EAST Women’s Basketball Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

Schulte scored in double figures for 21 games in a row that included a career-high 35 points against Marquette and a 30-point performance against Creighton. She recorded double figures in points and rebounds eight times this season and led the Blue Demons on a 10-game winning streak. Schulte was a big reason why DePaul won its fourth consecutive BIG EAST regular-season title and advanced to the NCAA tournament for the 15th year in a row.

Last week, Schulte and January were named to the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA) All-Region Team and are candidates for the WBCA All-America Team.



The AP’s All-America Team is headed by first-team selection Kelsey Plum of Washington, the NCAA’s All-time career leading scorer who averaged 31.7 points per game. She is joined on the first team by Katie Lou Samuelson and Napheesa Collier of Connecticut, A’ja Wilson of South Carolina and Brionna Jones of Maryland.

2017 Associated Press All-America Team
First Team
Kelsey Plum, Washington
A'ja Wilson, South Carolina
Katie Lou Samuelson, Connecticut
Napheesa Collier, Connecticut
Brionna Jones, Maryland

Second Team
Kelsey Mitchell, Ohio State
Brianna Turner, Notre Dame
Gabby Williams Connecticut
Chantel Osahor, Washington
Alexis Peterson, Syracuse

Third Team
Sydney Wiese, Oregon State
Lindsay Allen, Notre Dame
Shatori Walker-Kimbrough, Maryland
Lexie Brown, Duke
Victoria Vivians, Mississippi State

Honorable Mention (in alphabetical order)
Evelyn Akhator, Kentucky; Kristine Anigwe, California; Kalani Brown, Baylor; Jordin Canada, UCLA; Alaina Coates, South Carolina; Asia Durr, Louisville; Nia Coffey, Northwestern; Sophie Cunningham, Missouri; Makayla Epps, Kentucky; Tori Jankoska, Michigan State; Alexis Jones, Baylor; Tynice Martin, West Virginia; Erica McCall, Stanford; Brooke McCarty, Texas; Kia Nurse, Connecticut; Leticia Romero, Florida State; Mercedes Russell, Tennessee; Karlie Samuelson, Stanford; Brooke Schulte, DePaul; Jennie Simms, Old Dominion; Shakayla Thomas, Florida State; Lizzy Wendell, Drake; Morgan William, Mississippi State.

Buy Tickets



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago



» «