Schulte Selected to I-AAA ADA Scholar-Athlete Team
April 4, 2017

CHICAGO – DePaul senior Brooke Schulte has been named to the 2017 I-AAA Athletics Directors Association Women’s Basketball Scholar-Athlete Team.

In addition, Schulte is the recipient of the I-AAA ADA postgraduate scholarship and is the 13th Blue Demon student-athlete to be named to the I-AAA Scholar-Athlete Team. A DePaul player has been recognized on the team a total of 18 times including three-time honoree Allie Quigley.

Schulte is the BIG EAST Player of the Year, an Associated Press Honorable Mention All-American and a WBCA Honorable Mention All-American who carries a 3.676 grade-point average majoring in Health Sciences with a minor in Psychology and Biological Sciences.

Schulte enjoyed a break-out season in helping lead DePaul to its fourth consecutive BIG EAST regular-season title and its 15th-straight appearance in the NCAA tournament.

The senior guard from Germantown, Ill. led all scorers in BIG EAST Conference play averaging nearly 21 points a game after scoring 8.8 points per game in conference last season. That resulted in the BIG EAST Player of the Year award and also being voted Most Improved Player by the league’s coaches. The All-BIG EAST First Team selection was named the BIG EAST Women’s Basketball Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

Schulte scored in double figures for 21 games in a row that included a career-high 35 points against Marquette and a 30-point performance against Creighton. She recorded double figures in points and rebounds eight times this season and led the Blue Demons on a 10-game winning streak. Schulte was a big reason why DePaul was able to overcome injuries that sidelined three starters.

From the Scholar-Athlete teams, one male and female student-athlete was selected as the Division I-AAA ADA Scholar-Athletes of the Year. Receiving the women's honor was Mehryn Kraker, an Applied Leadership in Teaching and Leadership/Education major with a minor in Business Administration from UW-Green Bay with a 3.947 GPA; while the men's award went to Nigel Williams-Goss, a Psychology major from Gonzaga University who holds a 3.84 GPA.   



Schulte and Nate Kratch, a Psychology major from Santa Clara University with a 3.89 GPA were selected as the 2017 postgraduate scholarship recipients. Each will receive $5,000 towards postgraduate studies and will be given their awards during the Association's annual membership meeting being held in conjunction with the June 15 NACDA Convention in Orlando, Fla.

A special Review Committee of Division I-AAA athletics directors were responsible for selecting the winners. Completing this task were Committee Chair Tim Hall; Amanda Braun, Wisconsin-Milwaukee; Don DiJulia, St. Joseph's; Gene Doris, Fairfield; Bill Hogan, Seattle; Bill Husak, Loyola Marymount; Philip Hutcheson, Lipscomb; Scott Lazenby, Texas A&M Corpus Christi; and Jean Lenti Ponsetto, DePaul.

"Our association is thrilled with the high quality of this year's group of women's and men's scholar-athlete award winners," said Hall, chair of the Division I-AAA Scholar-Athlete Team Selection Committee and athletics director at the University of Maryland Baltimore County. "Our basketball programs are the primary focus of I-AAA athletics and recognizing these scholar-athletes, the Scholar-Athletes of the Year and the postgraduate scholarship recipients for their outstanding accomplishments is very gratifying for our organization."

"Student-athletes invest so much time and energy to stay ahead in their studies, while giving their best in competition," said Troy Austin, president of the Division I-AAA Athletics Directors Association and athletics director at Longwood University. "It says a lot about a young person when they can perform at a high level in both areas. On behalf of the Division I-AAA Athletics Directors Association, I would like to congratulate the Scholar-Athletes of the Year and the postgraduate scholarship recipients for their accomplishments in the classroom and on the field. This deserving group of outstanding individuals exemplifies the student-athlete model."

I-AAA Athletics Directors Association
2017 Women’s Scholar-Athlete Team





Jordin Alexander

Fla. Gulf Coast


Public Administration

Marissa Janning



Organizational Leadership

Mehryn Kraker

UW-Green Bay


Applied Leadership in Teaching & Leadership/Education

Kiara Kudron



Organizational Leadership

Chatori Major

UNC Asheville


Health and Wellness

Sally McCabe




Taylor McCarley




Jacqlyn Poss



Business Analytics

Brooke Schulte



Health Sciences

Kylee Smith



Business Administration

Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Mehryn Kraker, UW-Green Bay
Postgraduate Scholarship Recipient: Brooke Schulte, DePaul

Buy Tickets



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago



» «