The Official Website of DePaul University Athletics
NACDA Names Allie Quigley I-AAA Scholar-Athlete of the Year

Cleveland, Ohio - The 24 winners of the sixth annual Division I-AAA Athletics Directors Association Scholar-Athlete Teams were announced today by the Division I-AAA Athletics Directors Association (DI-AAA ADA). DePaul's Allie Quigley headlines the women's team as she was named the I-AAA Scholar-Athlete of the Year. It's the second time in her career for earning the honor as she was also the 2006 Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

"These student-athletes personify the definition of student-athlete, both on and off the field," stated Jean Lenti Ponsetto, chair of the Division I-AAA ADA Scholar-Athlete Team Selection Committee and athletics director at DePaul University. "Our Association is proud to be affiliated with such a quality group of individuals. It's an honor for the Division I-AAA ADA to annually award academic all-star teams."

Basketball players from all Division I-AAA ADA member institutions are eligible for these prestigious awards. Each of the nominees was required to have a minimum grade point average of 3.20 (on a 4.00 scale) in undergraduate study and have been a starter or important reserve with legitimate athletics credentials. He/she must have reached junior athletics and academic standing at the nominated institution (true freshmen, red-shirt freshmen and ineligible athletics transfers are not eligible) and have completed a minimum of two full academic years at the nominated institution. He/she must also have participated in 50 percent of the games played at his/her designated position.

Additionally, from the Scholar-Athlete teams, one male and female student-athlete was selected as the Division I-AAA Scholar-Athletes of the Year. Receiving the women's honor was Allie Quigley, a physical education major from DePaul, with a 3.72 GPA; while the men's award went to Justin Brett Hare, an exercise science/health promotion major from Belmont University, with a 3.87 GPA.

Quigley, the 22nd overall selection in last week's WNBA Draft, led the Blue Demons this season with 19.4 points and 124 assists while standing as the only player in the BIG EAST to be ranked among the league's top 12 in scoring, assists and steals. She also led the BIG EAST with a .865 free throw percentage this season and finished her career ranked in the top five in DePaul history in assists (3rd-427), field goal attempts (3rd-1,771), scoring (3rd-2,078), field goals (3rd-756), free throw percentage (t3rd-.832) and three-point field goal percentage (5th-.386). She registered six of the top 17 single-game three-point shooting performances in DePaul history and totaled 109 career games in double-figures (84.5 percent). Quigley tallied 35 career games with at least 20 points and passed the 30-point plateau on four career occasions including three during her senior season.

A special Review Committee of Division I-AAA athletics directors were responsible for selecting the winners. Completing this task were Committee Chair Jean Lenti Ponsetto, DePaul; Pete Carlon, Texas Arlington; Gary Cunningham, UC Santa Barbara; Don DiJulia, St. Joseph's; Gene Doris, Fairfield; Bill Husak, Loyola Marymount; John Planek, Loyola (Ill.); and Scott Street, Texas Pan American.

Now in its seventh year, the Division I-AAA Athletics Directors Association's mission is to enhance initiatives common to its Division I-AAA membership (those Division I institutions that do not sponsor football), in particular, aspects related to their flagship basketball programs. The Association is administered by NACDA, now in its 43rd year, is the professional and educational association for more than 6,100 college athletics administrators at more than 1,600 institutions throughout the United States, Canada and Mexico. More than 2,000 athletics administrators annually attend the NACDA Convention. Additionally, NACDA administers 10 professional associations for the separate business units that report directly to the athletics director.

Women's Scholar-Athlete Team
Name, Institution (GPA - Major)
Jami Kristine Bjorklund, Gonzaga (3.94 - Business Administration)
Sara Cain, Creighton (3.71 - Exercise Science, Pre-Medicine)
Elizabeth Doran, Santa Clara (3.96 - Bio-Engineering)
Sabrina Nicole Gregory, UNC Charlotte (3.74 - Mathematics)
Kayla Groh, Wisconsin-Green Bay (3.69 - Business Administration)
Theresa Lisch, Saint Louis (3.97 - Communication Sciences and Disorders)
Rebekah Parker, Evansville (3.69 - Physical Education, Health)
Jessica Pike, Oakland (3.93 - Wellness/Health Promotion/Injury Prevention)
Allie Quigley*, DePaul (3.72 - Physical Education)
Rachel Warren, Portland (3.75 - Global Business, Accounting)

Honorable Mention: Aubrianne Rote, Wisconsin-Milwaukee (3.92 - Kinesiology); Ally Thrall, Creighton (3.78 - Public Relations, Advertising); Mikaelar Whippy, Long Island (3.54 - Economics)

*Scholar-Athlete of the Year

Men's Scholar-Athlete Team
Name, Institution (GPA - Major)
Brian Charles Gettinger, Missouri-Kansas City (3.72 - Civil Engineering)
Justin Brett Hare*, Belmont (3.87 - Exercise Science/Health Promotion)
Mitchell Henke, Santa Clara (3.75 - Finance)
Jason Holsinger, Evansville (3.86 - Social Studies, Economics)
Travis Lay, American (3.91 - Accounting/Finance)
Yves Mekango Mbala, La Salle (3.82 - Integrated Science, Business Technology)
Luke Meyer, Saint Louis (3.77 - Accounting/MBA)
Vince Polakovic, San Francisco (3.41 - International Business)
Michael Schachtner, Wisconsin-Green Bay (3.81 - Psychology)
Ryan Tillema, Wisconsin-Green Bay (3.39 - Business Administration)

Honorable Mention: Pierce Philip Hibma, Creighton (3.63 - Theology, Pre-Medicine)

*Scholar-Athlete of the Year