Grays Named to I-AAA Scholar-Athlete Team
April 16, 2018

CHICAGO – DePaul’s Mart’e Grays has joined some pretty select company after being named to the 2018 Division I-AAA Athletics Directors Association (DI-AAA ADA) Women's Basketball Scholar-Athlete Team.

Grays led the Blue Demons to their fifth consecutive BIG EAST regular-season title and third BIG EAST Tournament title in the last five years. She was also a moving force in DePaul’s 16th-straight NCAA Tournament appearance, advancing to the second round.

The 6-foot, 2-inch junior was selected to the All-BIG EAST First Team after leading her team averaging 15.2 points per game in conference play.

It was an impressive comeback year for Grays who sat out the entire 2016-17 season with a torn Achilles tendon.

This is the fourth consecutive year a Blue Demon has graced the national Scholar-Athlete Team. Brooke Schulte was chosen in 2017 and also awarded the postgraduate scholarship.

In 2016, Jessica January was honored as the I-AAA Scholar-Athlete Player of the Year and was joined on the Scholar-Athlete Team by teammate Megan Podkowa as a repeat selection. Podkowa first made the team in 2015 along with teammate Brittany Hrynko.

“On behalf of the Division I-AAA Athletics Directors Association, I would like to congratulate the recipients of the Scholar-Athlete of the Year awards as well as those who have earned a postgraduate scholarship,” said Tim Hall, Division I-AAA ADA President and athletics director at Maryland Baltimore County (UMBC). “Our association prides itself in honoring student-athletes who model success both in the classroom and in their sport. These recipients are proof that student-athletes have the ability to devote time to their studies and still perform at the highest level of collegiate athletics.”

Basketball players from all Division I-AAA ADA member institutions with a minimum grade point average of 3.2 on a 4.0 scale in undergraduate study and have been a starter or important reserve with legitimate athletics credentials were eligible. Nominees must have participated in at least 50 percent of games played and reached junior academic standing.



This year’s women’s basketball Scholar-Athlete of the Year is Kylee Smith, who studied business administration as an undergraduate (3.915 GPA) and has a 3.898 GPA pursuing a master’s in sports administration at Belmont.

“The quality of all of our nominees exceeded our expectations and made this year’s decision process even more difficult than in years past,” said Division I-AAA ADA Scholar-Athlete Team Selection Committee Chair and Texas A&M-Corpus Christi AD Scott Lazenby. “Congratulations to all the honorees.”

Smith, and Joseph Sherburne, a financial economics major at UMBC with a perfect 4.0 GPA, were selected as the 2018 Postgraduate Scholarship recipients. Each will receive $5,000 towards postgraduate studies.

All the honorees will receive their awards during the I-AAA ADA annual meeting held June 28-30 in conjunction with the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA) Convention at the Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center in Washington, D.C.

Division I-AAA ADA’s special review committee was responsible for selecting the winners. Serving on the committee were Scott Lazenby (Chair); Amanda Braun, Wisconsin-Milwaukee; Don DiJulia, St. Joseph's; Bill Husak, Loyola Marymount; Philip Hutcheson, Lipscomb; Jean Lenti Ponsetto, DePaul; Kenneth Siegfied, CSU Bakersfield; Irma Garcia, St. Francis and Robert Lineburg, Radford.

2018 DI-AAA ADA Women's Basketball Scholar-Athlete Team
Lindsey Abed, University of Hartford
Taylor Gradinjan, Florida Gulf Coast University  
Mart'e Grays, DePaul University
Kamila Hoskova, Rider University
Jackie Kemph, Saint Louis University
Brittany Mbamalu, Texas A&M-Corpus Christi
Sally McCabe, Belmont University
Victoria Rampado, Niagra University
Chandler Smith, Gonzaga University
Kylee Smith, Belmont University



























Buy Tickets



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago



» «