The BIG EAST Conference Announces Home/Away League Opponents for 2005-06 Season

2005-06 BIG EAST Home/Away Opponents

PROVIDENCE, R.I. – The BIG EAST Conference has completed the home/away opponents for the 2005-06 women’s basketball season, as announced by the league office. As of July 1, the BIG EAST Conference will grow to a 16-team league with the additions of the University of Cincinnati, DePaul University, the University of Louisville, Marquette University and the University of South Florida.

The new format for league play will be a 16-game schedule. Each team will play 16 Conference games – seven opponents home only, seven opponents away only and one opponent both home and away, a repeat opponent. Each member will have a total of eight home and eight away games.

Four BIG EAST teams were in the Associated Press and USA Today-ESPN-WBCA final polls. Rutgers advanced to the NCAA Championship Elite 8, and ended the season with the league’s highest ranking of No. 9/7. Rutgers will face Connecticut as its repeat opponent. The Huskies were ranked No. 10/10 after bowing out of the NCAA Championship in the Sweet 16. Notre Dame, ranked No. 11/15 at the season’s end, will face new member DePaul, a constant in the top 25 during the 2004-05 season. Both teams advanced to the second round of the NCAA Championship.

The Blue Demons take on the Irish both home and away while facing each of the 14 other BIG EAST programs once.  Cincinnati, Connecticut, Louisville, Pittsburgh, St. John's, Syracuse and Villanova venture to Chicago next season while the Blue Demons travel to Georgetown, Marquette, Providence, Rutgers, Seton Hall, South Florida and West Virginia.  DePaul enters the 2005-06 with the nation's second-longest home-court winning streak at 23 consecutive victories.

The complete schedule with non-conference games and television coverage will be announced later this summer.



Buy Tickets



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago



» «