Athletics Banquet Celebrates Blue Demon Accomplishments
Lindsey Holden and Joe Hart received the Rev. John R. Cortelyou Award at the Athletics Banquet.

June 10, 2013

CHICAGO – All the best about DePaul athletics and the widespread success of its mission was evident at the year-end Athletics Banquet that put a finishing touch on the 2012-13 season.

The Friday night event at the Donald E. Stephens Convention Center in Rosemont, Ill. celebrated an academic year that saw Blue Demon student-athletes rising to new heights while also continuing to excel in the class room.

Five DePaul student-athletes came away with multiple awards. Sophomore Jackie Kasal was named Most Outstanding Performer for both women’s cross country and women’s outdoor track and field.

“I was surprised when I won both of those awards,” said Kasal, who finished first for DePaul in every cross-country race last fall and was a top performer throughout the outdoor track and field season. “I received so much help and support from my coaches.

“Striving my hardest to represent DePaul in every race was my biggest motivation this season. Our women’s cross country program really grew up, and this year was a big steppingstone for us. Women’s track is a young team, and I’m really excited for our future.”

Softball star Samantha Dodd was the Most Outstanding Performer in her sport and also received the Jean Nordberg Memorial Award. Russell Budd was the MOP in golf and was a recipient of the Rev. Edward F. Riley, C.M. Memorial Award.

Soccer goalie Joe Hart won the Rev. John R. Cortelyou Award with the highest grade-point average among DePaul’s male student-athletes. He was also a recipient of the Riley Award. Basketball player Edwind McGhee received the Riley Award along with the Strength & Conditioning Award.



Here is a rundown of the 2012-13 award winners.

Rev. John R. Cortelyou, C.M. Award
Joe Hart – Men Soccer
Lindsey Holden – Women’s Cross Country/Track & Field

Rev. Edward F. Riley, C.M. Memorial Award
Russell Budd – Golf
Drew Edwards – Men’s Track & Field
Joe Hart – Men’s Soccer
Edwind McGhee – Men’s Basketball

Jean Nordberg Memorial Award
Samantha Dodd – Softball
Ashleigh Goddard – Women’s Soccer
Katherine Harry – Women’s Basketball
Kelsey Lawson – Women’s Tennis

Strength & Conditioning Award
Taylor Hynes – Women’s Cross Country/Tack & Field
Edwind McGhee – Men’s Basketball

Team Spirit Award
Men’s Tennis

Most Outstanding Performer
Antonio Aguilar – Men’s Soccer
Kylie Nordness – Women’s Soccer
Jarret Fisher – Women’s Tennis
Filip Dzanko– Men’s Tennis
Jackie Kasal – Women’s Cross Country
Eddie McDaniel – Men’s Cross Country
Tonderai Tomu– Men’s Indoor Track & Field
Jordon Vaughn – Men’s Outdoor Track & Field
Tayler Whittler – Women’s Indoor Track & Field
Jackie Kasal – Women’s Outdoor Track & Field
Samantha Dodd – Softball
Russell Budd – Golf
Vesela Zapryanova – Volleyball
Anna Martin – Women’s Basketball
Brandon Young – Men’s Basketball

Buy Tickets



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago



» «