Millender Named to Meyers Drysdale Award Watch List
Nov. 7, 2017

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. - The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame announced Tuesday the 20 watch list candidates for the 2018 Ann Meyers Drysdale Award. Named after the first player, male or female, named to the All-America Team in four straight college seasons, the annual award in its inaugural year recognizes the top shooting guard in women's NCAA Division I college basketball.

DePaul junior Ashton Millender is among the 20 top shooting guards in the country selected to the watch list. The Blue Demons open the season Friday against Northern Colorado ranked No. 25 in the Associated Press preseason national poll and No. 20 in the USA Today/Coaches poll.

"First of all, we are absolutely thrilled to have Ashton back and getting healthy," said DePaul coach Doug Bruno about the standout from Marian Catholic who is returning from injury. "Ashton is truly deserving.

"She brings an understated toughness and production to our backcourt that is always ever-present."

The Selection Committee for the Ann Meyers Drysdale Award is composed of top women's college basketball personnel including media members, head coaches, sports information directors and Hall of Famers.

By mid-February, the watch list of 20 players for the 2018 Ann Meyers Drysdale Award will be narrowed to just 10. In March, five finalists will be presented to Ms. Drysdale and the Hall of Fame's selection committee. Fans will also have the opportunity to vote for their favorite finalist at

The winner will be announced at an inaugural awards ceremony hosted by the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame, Women's Basketball Coaches Association, and ESPN at the NCAA Women's Final Four in Columbus, Ohio. ESPN broadcast information will be released at a later date.



 "Ann Meyers dominated the basketball court as a standout for UCLA, surpassing records held by both men and women at the basketball powerhouse university," said John L. Doleva, President and CEO of the Basketball Hall of Fame. "Recognized as the only woman to sign a contract with an NBA team, Ann has been a shining example of character and skill and we are so pleased to announce this award bearing her name."

 "It is an honor to be associated with this award identifying the best in the collegiate game today," said Meyers Drysdale, a 1993 inductee of the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame. "The shooting guards on this list have worked tirelessly to earn a spot on this esteemed watch list and it's nice to see the Basketball Hall of Fame recognize them for their efforts."

For more information on the 2018 Ann Meyers Drysdale Award, visit

2018 Ann Meyers Drysdale Award Watch List
Darby Maggard Belmont
Katie Lou Samuelson, Connecticut
Ashton Millender, DePaul
Rebecca Greenwell, Duke
Asia Durr, Louisville
Chloe Jackson, LSU
Natisha Hiedeman, Marquette
Allazia Blockton, Marquette
Kaila Charles, Maryland
Victoria Vivians, Mississippi State
 Arike Ogunbowale, Notre Dame
Lexi Bando, Oregon
Jovana Nogic, Providence
Jaycee Bradley, South Dakota
Kitija Laksa, South Florida
Akina Wellere, St. John's
Brittany McPhee, Stanford
Dannie Williams, Texas A&M
Kennedy Burke, UCLA
Tynice Martin    West Virginia

Buy Tickets



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago



» «