The Official Website of DePaul University Athletics
Hampton Named to Preseason Naismith Watch List
DePaul's Keisha Hampton is one of 16 juniors on the preseason Nasmith watch list.

DePaul's Keisha Hampton is one of 16 juniors on the preseason Nasmith watch list.

Nov. 9, 2010

CHICAGO - DePaul junior forward Keisha Hampton was named to the preseason Naismith watch list it was announced today by the Atlanta Tip Off Club.  Hampton is among 50 Division I student-athletes and is one of nine BIG EAST Conference players to be recognized on the preseason list.

Hampton begins her junior season as a preseason All-BIG EAST selection and has started all 66 games for the Blue Demons since arriving on campus in 2008.   The junior from Philadelphia has reached double-figures in 42 games while she has totaled 800 career points.  In 2009-10, Hampton led DePaul with 13.8 points per game while grabbing 5.1 rebounds.

The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, University of Tennessee and Stanford University each have three players represented on the 2010-11 Naismith preseason watch list. This year's diverse list includes the top women's college basketball players from 37 schools around the country.

The watch list was compiled by the Atlanta Tipoff Club's Board of Selectors, which based its criteria on player performances from the previous year and expectations for the 2010-11 college basketball season. The Naismith Trophy presented by AT&T* will be awarded on April 4, 2011 at the NCAA Women's Final Four in Indianapolis.

"We have a dynamic group of players this year whom we expect to lead their teams to successful seasons, said Eric Oberman, Atlanta Tipoff Club executive director. "It will be another competitive race to see which candidate claims the most prestigious trophy in college basketball."

Since 2005, presenting sponsor AT&T has set the standard in allowing fans to participate in determining the trophy winner. Through the power and ease of text messaging** fan voting will account for 25 percent of all of the final results - more than any other national college basketball award.

"AT&T is proud to help recognize outstanding student-athletes as part of our relationship with the Naismith Women's College Player of the Year program," said Jason Simpson executive director, AT&T Corporate Sponsorships. "We look forward to watching an action-packed season and encourage fans to get in the game by voting for their favorite player."

In late February, the Atlanta Tipoff Club's Board of Selectors will compile a mid-season team of the top 30 players in the nation. Then in March, the Naismith Trophy voting academy will vote to narrow the list to the four finalists.

The Naismith Trophy is the most prestigious national award presented annually to college basketball's player of the year.

The Blue Demons open their 2010-11 season on Friday, Nov. 12 when they welcome Valparaiso for the first round of the Preseason WNIT.  Friday's tip is scheduled for 7 p.m. at McGrath Arena.

Preseason Watch List
Danielle Adams, Texas A&M, Forward/Center, Senior
Kachine Alexander, Iowa, Guard, Senior
LaSondra Barrett, LSU, Forward, Junior
Angie Bjorklund, Tennessee, Guard/Forward, Senior
Kelsey Bolte, Iowa State, Guard, Senior
Jessica Breland, North Carolina, Forward, Senior
Kelley Cain, Tennessee Center, Junior
Cetera DeGraffenreid, North Carolina, Guard, Senior
Elena Delle Donne, Delaware, Forward/Guard, Sophomore
Skylar Diggins, Notre Dame, Guard, Sophomore
Jasmine Dixon, UCLA, Forward, Junior
Victoria Dunlap, Kentucky, Forward, Senior
Dawn Evans, James Madison, Guard, Senior
Casey Garrison, Missouri State, Guard, Junior
Brittney Griner, Baylor, Forward, Sophomore
Keisha Hampton, DePaul, Forward, Junior
Amber Harris, Xavier, Forward, Senior
Tiffany Hayes, Connecticut, Guard, Junior
Ify Ibekwe, Arizona, Forward, Senior
Amy Jaeschke, Northwestern, Center, Senior
Shenise Johnson, Miami (Florida), Guard, Junior
Melissa Jones, Baylor, Guard, Senior
Jantel Lavender, Ohio State, Center, Senior
Italee Lucas, North Carolina, Guard, Senior
A'dia Mathies, Kentucky, Guard, Sophomore
Sarah Miles, West Virginia, Guard, Senior
Alex Montgomery, Georgia Tech, Guard/Forward, Senior
Maya Moore, Connecticut, Forward, Senior
Nnemkadi Ogwumike, Stanford, Forward, Junior
Kayla Pedersen, Stanford, Forward, Senior
Ta'Shia Phillips, Xavier, Center, Senior
Jeanette Pohlen, Stanford, Guard, Senior
Samantha Prahalis, Ohio State, Guard, Junior
Lauren Prochaska, Ohio State, Guard, Junior
Chastity Reed, Arkansas - Little Rock, Forward, Senior
Monique Reid, Louisville, Forward, Junior
Jence Rhoads, Vanderbilt, Guard, Senior
Danielle Robinson, Oklahoma, Guard, Senior
Ta'Shauna Rodgers, Georgetown, Guard, Sophomore
Shenneika Smith, St. John's, Guard, Sophomore
Brittany Spears, Colorado, Forward, Senior
Da'Shena Stevens, St. John's, Forward, Junior
Shekinna Stricklen, Tennessee, Guard/Forward, Junior
Helena Sverrisdottir, TCU, Guard/Forward, Senior
Carolyn Swords, Boston College Center, Senior
Louella Tomlinson, St. Mary's, Forward, Senior
Jasmine Thomas, Duke, Guard, Senior
Courtney Vandersloot, Gonzaga, Guard, Senior
Courtney Ward, Florida State, Guard, Senior
Riquna Williams, Miami (Florida), Guard, Junior