Martin Named to Preseason Wooden Top 30 List
Anna Martin was named to the Wooden Award Preseason top 30 on Friday.

Nov. 9, 2012

CHICAGO -- The Los Angeles Athletic Club has announced its John R. Wooden Award Women’s Preseason Top 30 today, which is comprised of 30 student-athletes who, based on last year’s individual performance and team records, are the early front-runners for college basketball’s most prestigious honor. The list is chosen by a preseason poll of national college women’s basketball media members.

Transfers, freshmen and medical redshirts are not eligible for the Preseason Top 30. These players and others who excel throughout the season will be evaluated and considered for January’s midseason list and the official voting ballot released in March. The National Ballot consists of 20 top players who have proven to their universities that they are also making progress toward graduation and maintaining at least a cumulative 2.0 GPA.  The Wooden Award All American Team, consisting of the nation’s top five players, will be announced the week of the Final Four.

Anna Martin enters her senior season after leading the BIG EAST Conference in scoring with 19.1 points per game which also ranked 25th in Division I a year ago.  This season she is a unanimous preseason All-BIG EAST Selection and is also on the State Farm Wade Trophy Watch List.  Last season the Lexington, Ky. native was also an honorable mention Associated Press All-American.

The BIG EAST Conference led all conferences with seven selections, followed by the ACC with six, the Big 12 and Big 10 with five each, the SEC, Pac-12 and CAA with two, and the Ivy League with one.

DePaul begins its 2012-13 season at 5:30 p.m. tonight when it hosts Nicholls State in the second game of the Maggie Dixon Classic.  

Preseason Wooden Top 30
Alex Bentley, Penn State
Carolyn Davis, Kansas
Elena Delle Donne@, Delaware
Skylar Diggins@, Notre Dame
Jasmine Dixon, UCLA
Stefanie Dolson, Connecticut
Shante Evans, Hofstra
Christina Foggie, Vanderbilt
Chassidy Fussell, Texas
Angel Goodrich, Kansas
Chelsea Gray, Duke
Brittney Griner@*#, Baylor
Bria Hartley, Connecticut
Tayler Hill, Ohio State
Jordan Hooper, Nebraska
Natasha Howard, Florida State
Maggie Lucas, Penn State
Tyaunna Marshall, Georgia Tech
Anna Martin, DePaul
A’dia Mathies, Kentucky
Laurin Mincy, Maryland
Lindsey Moore, Nebraska
Kaleena Mosqueda-Lewis, Connecticut
Chiney Ogwumike, Stanford
Niveen Rasheed, Princeton
Sugar Rodgers, Georgetown
Shoni Schimmel, Louisville
Odyssey Sims, Baylor
Alyssa Thomas, Maryland
Elizabeth Williams, Duke
*indicates player chosen to the 2011 Wooden All American Team             
@ indicates player chosen to the 2012 Wooden All American team           
# indicates 2012 John R. Wooden Award winner                
John R. Wooden Award winner honored in April 2013 at The Los Angeles Athletic Club.  



Buy Tickets



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago



» «