Martin Named to the Early Season Naismith Watch List
Anna Martin is one of 50 student-athletes named to the Naismith women's early season watch list.

Nov. 15, 2012

ATLANTA  –  DePaul senior guard Anna Martin was named to the 2012-2013 Naismith women’s early season watch list, the Atlanta Tipoff Club announced on Thursday.  The Naismith Women’s College Player of the Year is presented by AT&T and was first presented in 1983.

The 50 player watch list was compiled by the Atlanta Tipoff Club’s Board of Selectors, which based its criteria on player performances from the previous year and expectations for the 2012-2013 college basketball season.

The Naismith Women’s College Player of the Year presented by AT&T will be awarded on April 8, 2013, in New Orleans, La.

Martin currently leads DePaul (1-1) with 8.0 assists per game while also chipping in 13.5 points.  A unanimous preseason All-BIG EAST selection, Martin is also on the preseason State Farm Wade Trophy Watch List and the preseason Wooden top 30 this year. Last season the Lexington, Ky. native was an honorable mention Associated Press All-American while also being one of two unanimous first-team All-BIG EAST selections.

 “With so much returning talent this year, anticipation and excitement for women’s college basketball season among fans, players and coaches is extremely high,” said Eric Oberman, executive director of the Atlanta Tipoff Club. “We look forward to watching these student-athletes compete and prove to the nation that they deserve to be recognized as the best women’s college basketball player in 2013.”

“AT&T is honored to continue its support of this ongoing tradition and this class of emerging talent,” said Jamie Kerr, Director, AT&T Corporate Sponsorships. “These promising student-athletes will make for a competitive race and contribute to another exciting season of women’s college basketball.”

In late February, the Atlanta Tipoff Club’s Board of Selectors will compile a mid-season team of the top 30 players in the nation. In March, the Naismith Trophy voting academy will vote to narrow the list to the four finalists.

Notable Naismith Women’s College Player of the Year winners include Chamique Holdsclaw, Lisa Leslie,
Rebecca Lobo, and Tina Charles. The Naismith women’s Trophy is the most prestigious national award
presented annually to the women’s college basketball player of the year.

For more information, visit

Naismith Early Season Watch List
Anne Marie Armstrong, Georgia
Alex Bentley, Penn State
Kelsey Bone, Texas A&M
Heather Butler, University of Tennessee-Martin
Layshia Clarendon, California
Carolyn Davis, Kansas
Elena Delle Donne, Delaware
Skylar Diggins, Notre Dame
Stefanie Dolson, Connecticut
Aaryn Ellenberg, Oklahoma
Shante Evans, Hofstra
Kelly Faris, Connecticut
Christina Foggie, Vanderbilt
Chassidy Fussell, Texas
Jennifer George, Florida
Angel Goodrich, Kansas
Chelsea Gray, Duke
Brittney Griner, Baylor
Whitney Hand, Oklahoma
Bria Hartley, Connecticut
Tianna Hawkins, Maryland
Tayler Hill, Ohio State
Jordan Hooper, Nebraska
Natasha Howard, Florida State
Kortni Jones, Middle Tennessee State
Maggie Lucas, Penn State
Kevi Luper, Oral Roberts
Ty Marshall, Georgia Tech
Anna Martin, DePaul
A'dia Mathies, Kentucky
Kayla McBride, Notre Dame
Nadirah McKenith, St. John's
Lauren Mincy, Maryland
Lindsey Moore, Nebraska
Kaleena Mosqueda-Lewis, Connecticut
Chiney Ogwumike, Stanford
Monique Oliver, Rutgers
Chelsea Poppens, Iowa State
Niveen Rasheed, Princeton
Monique Reid, Louisville
Sugar Rodgers, Georgetown
Ebony Rowe, Middle Tennessee State
Shoni Schimmel, Louisville
Naama Shafir, Toledo
Odyssey Sims, Baylor
Shenneika Smith, St. John's
Breanna Stewart, Connecticut
Alyssa Thomas, Maryland
Markel Walker, UCLA
Elizabeth Williams, Duke



Buy Tickets



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago



» «