Allie Quigley Named Preseason Naismith Trophy Candidate

ATLANTA – Fifty of the country’s top collegiate women’s basketball players were named as pre-season candidates for the Naismith Trophy presented by Cingular Wireless, the Atlanta Tipoff Club announced today. The Naismith Trophy is the most prestigious national award presented annually to the men’s and women’s players of the year.

DePaul's Allie Quigley is second player in program history - joining Khara Smith - to be named to the Naismith Award list. She is also one of nine BIG EAST student-athletes on the preseason list. Quigley leads the Blue Demons with 19.0 points per game, including a career-best 37 points against Rutgers on Dec. 7. The junior is rapidly ascending the DePaul record charts with 1,085 points for 17th all-time and 156 three-pointers to tie for fourth in school history.

The Top 50 list was compiled by the Atlanta Tipoff Club’s Board of Selectors, comprised of leading basketball journalists, coaches and administrators from around the country. The board based its pre-season criteria on player performances from last season and expectations for the 2006-07 season.

“The women’s pre-season candidates represent the very best in college basketball,” said Gary Stokan, Atlanta Sports Council president. “It will be a privilege to add any of these players to the list of distinguished Naismith Trophy winners.”

In January, the Board of Selectors will narrow its pre-season list to the Top 30 players in the nation. Those players, and others who distinguish themselves throughout the season, will be eligible for the final ballot in March.

Cingular Wireless will continue to set the standard in allowing fans to participate in determining this year’s winner. Through the power and ease of text messaging, fan voting will account for an unprecedented 25% of the final results – more than any other national award.

“The talent in women’s basketball is as deep as it’s ever been this season,” said Marc Lefar, chief marketing officer of Cingular Wireless. “Cingular is excited to partner with the Atlanta Tipoff Club and college basketball fans nationwide to help select this year’s Naismith Trophy winner.”

The pre-season candidates for the Naismith Trophy presented by Cingular Wireless, listed in alphabetical order, are as follows:

Name, Position, School
Matee Ajavon, G, Rutgers
Jolene Anderson, G, Wisconsin
Morenike Atunrase, G/F, Texas A&M
Alison Bales, C, Duke
DeWanna Bonner, F, Auburn
Sha Brooks, G, Florida
Essense Carson, F, Rutgers
Cori Chambers, G, Georgia
Angela Clark, F, St. John's
Marissa Coleman, F, Maryland
Jazz Covington, F, Louisville
Jessica Davenport, C, Ohio State
Dee Davis, G, Vanderbilt
Jessica Dickson, G, South Florida
Shay Doron, G, Maryland
Sylvia Fowles, C, LSU
Katie Gearlds, G, Purdue
Chrissy Givens, F, Middle Tennessee
Devanai Hampton, C, California
Lindsey Harding, G, Duke
Kiera Hardy, G, Nebraska
Laura Harper, F, Maryland
Cameo Hicks, G, Washington
Alexis Hornbuckle, G, Tennessee
Charde Houston, F, Connecticut
Tasha Humphrey, F, Georgia
Tiffany Jackson, F, Texas
Tye Jackson, F, Houston
Crystal Kelly, F, Western Kentucky
Crystal Langhorne, F, Maryland
Erlana Larkins, F, North Carolina
Ivory Latta, G, North Carolina
Camille Little, F, North Carolina
Victoria Lucas-Perry, G, Michigan State
Dionne Marsh, F, New Mexico
Lindsey Medders, G, Iowa State
Renee Montgomery, G, Connecticut
Shay Murphy, G, USC
Courtney Paris, C, Oklahoma
Candace Parker, F/G/C, Tennessee
Armintie Price, G, Ole Miss
Allie Quigley, G, DePaul
Noelle Quinn, F, UCLA
Jillian Robbins, F, Tulsa
Megan Skouby, C, Iowa
Brooke Smith, F/C, Stanford
Kristi Toliver, G, Maryland
Mercedes Walker, C, Pittsburgh
Emily Westerberg, F, Arizona State
Candice Wiggins, G, Stanford

Last year’s Naismith Trophy recipient was repeat winner Seimone Augustus from LSU. Other notable women’s college player of the year winners include Diana Taurasi, Cheryl Miller, Chamique Holdsclaw and Sheryl Swoopes.

For more information, visit

The Atlanta Tipoff Club, an Atlanta Sports Council property, is committed to promoting the game of basketball and recognizing the outstanding accomplishments of those who make the game so exciting. The Atlanta Tipoff Club has presented the Naismith Trophy since Lew Alcindor first won the award in 1969.

Cingular Wireless is the largest wireless carrier in the United States, serving 58.7 million customers. Cingular, a joint venture between AT&T Inc. (NYSE: T) and BellSouth Corporation (NYSE: BLS), has the largest digital voice and data network in the nation—the ALLOVER™ network—and the largest mobile-to-mobile community of any national wireless carrier. Cingular is a leader in third generation wireless technology. Its 3G network is the first widely available service in the world to use HSDPA (High Speed Downlink Packet Access) technology. Cingular is the only U.S. wireless carrier to offer Rollover®, the wireless plan that lets customers keep their unused monthly minutes. Details of the company are available at <> . Get Cingular Wireless press releases emailed to you automatically. Sign up at <> .



Buy Tickets



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago



» «