DePaul’s Ben Named to 2017 MAC Hermann Trophy Watch List
Aug. 8, 2017

KANSAS CITY – The United Soccer Coaches and the Missouri Athletic Club announced today the 61 NCAA Division I players named to the 2017 MAC Hermann Trophy Watch Lists, placing DePaul’s senior midfielder Alexa Ben on the impressive list.

The MAC Hermann Trophy is the most prestigious individual award in college soccer and is presented annually to the most outstanding male and female players of the year. This year’s winners will be announced Friday, Jan. 5, 2018 at the Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis.

Ben, who is the 2014 BIG EAST Rookie of the Year, 2016 BIG EAST Midfielder of the Year, and two-time All-BIG EAST First Team selection, finished 2016 with seven goals and three assists (17 points), compiling five goals and one assist in BIG EAST play.  The Schaumburg, Ill., native was also recently recognized by the NCAA as a “Name to Know” for the 2017 season.

A total of 30 players are included on the Women’s Watch List, headlined by 2016 finalist Andi Sullivan and four previous national champions: Florida State goalkeeper Cassie Miller, University of Southern California defender Ally Prisock and Penn State teammates Emily Ogle and Frannie Crouse. Thirteen of the 30 players were United Soccer Coaches All-Americans last season, including UCLA sophomore Jessie Fleming who featured for Canada in the 2015 FIFA Women’s World Cup and the 2016 Summer Olympics.

The MAC Hermann Trophy Watch Lists are compiled by members of the United Soccer Coaches Men’s and Women’s NCAA Division I All-America Committees. Fifteen semifinalists will be named for both the men’s and women’s MAC Hermann Trophy near the end of the college season based on voting by NCAA Division I coaches and from those candidates, three finalists will ultimately be placed on the ballot for the coveted award.

For more information about the MAC Hermann Trophy, including a list of past winners, visit

2017 Women’s MAC Hermann Trophy Watch List
PLAYER NAME                       YR            POS         SCHOOL/HOMETOWN
Jemma Purfield                    Jr.            D             Arizona State/Cottingham, England
Rachel Bloznalis                    Sr.           D             Boston University/Upton, Mass.
Taylor Isom                            Sr.           D             Brigham Young/Sandy, Utah
Kendall Ham                          Sr.           F              Bucknell/Stratham, NH
Alexis Pelafas                        Jr.            F              Central Michigan  Wheaton, Ill.
Taylor Kornieck                    So.           M            Colorado/Henderson, Nev.
Alexis Kiehl                           Sr.           F              Dayton/Cincinnati, Ohio
Alexa Ben                              Sr.           M            DePaul/Schaumburg, Ill.
Gabby Seiler                         Sr.           MF          Florida/Peachtree City, Ga.
Natalia Kuikka                       Jr.            D             Florida State/Kemi, Finland
Deyna Castellanos                So.           F              Florida State/Maracay, Venezuela
Cassie Miller                         Sr.           K              Florida State/Cave Creek, Ariz.
Rachel Corboz                      Sr.           M            Georgetown/Green Brook, N.J.
Grace Hagan                         Jr.            F              Kansas/Wichita, Kan.
Ashley Gonzales                   Sr.           F              Long Beach State/Ontario, Calif.
Bridgette Andrzejewski      So.           F              North Carolina/Lutherville, Md.
Lauren Clem                         Sr.           K              Northwestern/Stevensville, Mich.
Emily Ogle                             Jr.            M            Penn State/Strongsville, Ohio
Frannie Crouse                     Sr.           F              Penn State/Greensburg, Penn.
Casey Murphy                      Jr.            K              Rutgers/Bridgewater, N.J.
Mikayla Krzeczowski            So.           K              South Carolina/Douglasville, Ga.
Savannah McCaskill             Sr.           F              South Carolina/Chapin, S.C.
Ally Prisock                           Jr.            D             Southern California/Rancho Cucamonga, Calif.
Tierna Davidson                   So.           M            Stanford/Menlo Park, Calif.
Andi Sullivan                         Sr.           M            Stanford/Lorton, Va.
Ally Watt                                So.           F              Texas A&M/Colorado Springs, Colo.
Jessie Fleming                       So.           M            UCLA/London, Ont.
Chidera Akubuilo                 Sr.           D             UNLV/Torrance, Calif.
Hailey Skolmoski                  Jr.            F              Utah/Riverton, Utah
Michaela Abam                    Sr.           F              West Virginia/Houston, Texas

2017 Men’s MAC Hermann Trophy Watch List
PLAYER NAME                       YR            POS         SCHOOL/HOMETOWN
Sam Gainford                        Sr.           F              Akron/Liverpool, England
Afonso Pinheiro                   Sr.           F              Alban/Sao Paulo, Brazil
Frantzdy Pierrot                   Sr.           F              Coastal Carolina/Boston, Mass.
Ricky Lopez-Espin                Sr.           F              Creighton/Miami, Fla.
Wyatt Omsberg                    Sr.           D             Dartmouth/Scarborough, Maine
Ian McGrath                          Sr.           M            Evansville/New Lenox, Ill.
Albert Ruiz                            Sr.           F              Florida Gulf Coast/Barcelona, Spain
Niki Jackson                           Sr.           F              Grand Canyon University/Scottsdale, Ariz.
Siggi Benonysson                 So.           F              High Point/Vestmannaeyjar, Iceland
Grant Lillard                          Sr.           D             Indiana/ Hinsdale, Ill.
Tim Kubel                              Sr.           D             Louisville/Stuttgart, Germany
Grant Stoneman                   Jr.            D             Loyola Chicago/St. Charles, Ill.
Gordon Wild                         Jr.            F              Maryland/Cologne, Germany
Will Bagrou                           Sr.           F              Mercer/Dacula, Ga.
Ryan Sierakowski                 Jr.            F              Michigan State/McHenry, Ill.
Cam Lindley                          So.           M            North Carolina/Carmel, Ind.
Jon Gallagher                        Sr.           F              Notre Dame/Dundalk, Ireland
Tristan Blackmon                  Sr.           F              Pacific/Las Vegas, Nev.
Pablo Pelaez                         So.           M            San Diego State/San Diego, Cal.
Mauro Cichero                     Sr.           M            SMU/Norman, Okla.
Tomas Hilliard-Arce             Sr.           D             Stanford/Matthews, N.C.
Foster Langsdorf                  Sr.           F              Stanford/Vancouver, Wash.
Mo Adams                             So.           M            Syracuse/Nottingham, England
Danny Musovski                   Sr.           F              UNLV/Henderson, Nev.
Paul Hoffmeister                  Sr.           M            Utah Valley/Hilden, Germany
Edward Opoku                      Jr.            F              Virginia/Rye, N.Y.
Marcelo Acuna                     Sr.           F              Virginia Tech/San Jose, Costa Rica
Brad Dunwell                        Jr.            M            Wake Forest/Grand Rapids, Mich.
Antonio Bustamante            Jr.            M            William and Mary/Springfield, Va.
Chris Mueller                        Sr.           F              Wisconsin/Schaumburg, Ill.
Cory Brown                           Sr.           D             Xavier/Nelson, New Zealand



Buy Tickets



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago



» «