Julianne Sitch Named Conference USA Offensive Player of the Year

Live stats for Wednesday's match beginning at 11 a.m. CST.

CHICAGO - Sophomore midfielder/forward Julianne Sitch was named the Conference USA Offensive Player of the Year it was announced today by the league office.  She is the first DePaul player to earn Player of the Year honors in the program's eight-year history.  Teammates Amber Prindle and Lindsey Deason earned third-team honors while Lauren Spacht was named to the league's All-Freshman team.

Sitch led C-USA all season in most offensive categories while claiming the career scoring, goals and assist records in DePaul history.  Her 86 shots are a single-season C-USA record.  Through 38 career matches, she has tallied a DePaul-best 48 points on 19 goals and 10 assists.  A year ago, she was named to the league’s second team and earned All-Freshman team honors.

Amber Prindle and Lindsey Deason earn All-Conference USA honors for the first time in their careers after being named to the third team.  Prindle, a senior defender, and Deason, a junior goalkeeper, are stalwarts in the DePaul defense that holds a 0.82 goals against average entering the league tournament on Wednesday.  The six shutouts posted by the Blue Demons equal the record set in 2002.  Spacht is the second consecutive freshman to be named to All-Freshman team following Sitch a year ago.  She is second on the club in scoring with 12 points on four goals and four assists.

DePaul opens Conference USA Tournament play with an 11 a.m. match against Marquette.  The Blue Demons enter the league tournament as the No. 6 seed while the Golden Eagles the third seed.  For more on the tournament and a link to live stats, click here.

2003 Conference USA Women’s Soccer Awards

First Team All-Conference USA
F: Tara Kidwell, UAB
F: Jamie Perry, Saint Louis
F: Yuiko Konno, Memphis
F: Megan McCallion, East Carolina
MF: Julianne Sitch, DePaul
MF: Nikki Hawkins, Houston
MF: Nicky McLeod, Memphis
MF: Kate Reed, USF
D: Penny Perrott, East Carolina
D: Lindsay Smale, Marquette
D: Asia Simons, Tulane
D: Briana McCarty, UAB
GK: Breck Bankster, USF

Second Team All-Conference USA
F: Tasha Wagner, Cincinnati
F: Jessi Moore, TCU
F: Courtney Crandell, Charlotte
MF: Anne Ioder, Marquette
MF: Christie Cigno, Saint Louis
MF: Jenny Rynders, UAB
D: Kim Moore, Charlotte
D: Kristina Wilson, Cincinnati
D: Emily Allwardt, Houston
D: Anny Lucier, Saint Louis
GK: Katie Bissen, Marquette

Third Team All-Conference USA
F: Jamie Craft, Louisville
F: Amy Van Zandt, TCU
F: Jill Knottek, UAB
MF: Kelly Ferguson, Saint Louis
MF: Karrissa Hill, TCU
MF: Jackie Obert, Tulane
D: Tiffany Ross, Charlotte
D: Amber Prindle, DePaul
D: Carolyn Klopp, Marquette
D: Stacci Sastre, USF
D: Kay Beth Costilow, USM
GK: Lindsay Deason, DePaul

All-Freshman Team (No position restriction)
Shannon Huffman, GK, Charlotte
Becky Imhoff, MF, Cincinnati
Lauren Spacht, F, DePaul
Nicole Zygmontowicz, D, Houston
Jamie Craft, F, Louisville
Beth McGill, F, Marquette
Dee Guempel, MF, Saint Louis
Courtney Hulcer, MF, Saint Louis
Ashley Fortune, F, TCU
Jackie Obert, MF, Tulane
Pam Cooney, D, UAB
Jen Williams, MF, UAB

Freshman of the Year
Jamie Craft, Louisville

Co-Defensive Player of the Year
Penny Perrott, East Carolina
Breck Bankster, USF

Offensive Player of the Year
Julianne Sitch, DePaul

Coach of the Year
Paul Harbin, UAB



Buy Tickets



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago



» «