Bouck and Chouinard Earn Top Individual C-USA Honors

CHICAGO - DePaul's junior pitcher Lindsay Chouinard, who led the No. 18 Blue Demons to their second consecutive regular season title this season, is the league's Pitcher of the Year, while teammate Liz Bouck was named Most Valuable Player the league announced yesterday. Conference USA announced its major award winners and all-league teams, chosen by C-USA's nine head coaches, at its pre-tournament banquet Wednesday at the Holiday Inn in Tampa, Fla. The 2002 Conference USA Tournament, hosted by South Florida, will take place May 9-11 at the USF Softball Complex. The championship game on May 11 will be televised by affiliates of the Conference USA Television Network. The game will be on Fox Sports Net Chicago on May 12 at 5 p.m. (CST).

Chouinard, who has tossed three no-hitters this spring, claims her first C-USA Pitcher of the Year accolade. She is currently first in the league in four categories - earned run average (0.45), opposing batting average (.141), saves (5) and wins (25). The junior has thrown six career no-hitters, tying the C-USA record held by Southern Miss' Courtney Blades, the 2000 Honda Award winner. Chouinard also has not allowed an earned run in her last 74 1/3 innings pitched, 2/3 innings short of the conference record set by Blades in 2000. On the season, she is 25-4 with a 0.45 ERA, ranking third in the nation. She led the conference with five C-USA Pitcher of the Year honors this season, totaling 9 in her career.

This season, Bouck has been a key member in the Blue Demon's starting lineup. She currently leads the conference in runs scored (41) and ranks second in batting average (.411) and hits (69). She notched 22 multi-hit games including six three-hit games and produced a team-best nine-game hitting streak. She also tied the Conference USA single-season record for runs with 20 and hits with 29 in league games.

No. 18 DePaul led the way with five first team all-conference selections. This tied the Blue Demon's own league record set last year. East Carolina and Louisville followed with three, UAB had two and Charlotte and Saint Louis each placed one player on the first team.


First-Team All-Conference USA
C: Gina Ramacci, DePaul
IF: Leah Heston, Charlotte
IF: Liz Bouck, DePaul
IF: April Valdez, DePaul
IF: Angela Manzo, East Carolina
IF: Kenzie Meisenburg, Louisville
IF: Candice Hithe, UAB
OF: Beth Bridger, East Carolina
OF: Sara Bausher, Louisville
OF: Keola Calderon, Louisville
OF: Cliffanie Engram, UAB
P: Lindsay Chouinard, DePaul
P: Nicole Bacon, East Carolina
UT: Sarah Martz, DePaul
DP: Nicole Bohnenstiehl, Saint Louis

Second-Team All-Conference USA
C: Ray Ferreris, Houston
IF: Stephanie Dunlap, Charlotte
IF: Ali McDougall, Houston
IF: Leslie Seay, Houston
IF: Channika Gant, Southern Miss
IF: Kai Paul, UAB
OF: Kristy Constantino, Charlotte
OF: Riane Netardus, Houston
OF: Renee Oursler, South Florida
OF: Sara Boyd, Southern Miss
P: Jessica Rak, Louisville
P: Megan Stephenson, UAB
DP: Kelli Thompson, UAB

Conference USA All-Freshmen Team
C: Lisa Estes, Louisville
IF: Kristen Glowacz, Houston
IF: Kate Manuse, East Carolina
IF: Carmela Liwag, South Florida
OF: Dana Kenney, DePaul
OF: Kim Nesloney, Houston
OF: Sara Bausher, Louisville
OF: Kristin Stanfill, UAB
P: Krystle Herold, Louisville
P: Niki Trowell, South Florida
UT: Saskia Roberson, DePaul
DP: Jenilee Skender, Houston

Freshman of the Year: Kristen Glowacz, Houston

Pitcher of the Year: Lindsay Chouinard, DePaul

Most Valuable Player: Liz Bouck, DePaul

Coach of the Year: Marla Townsend, UAB



Buy Tickets



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago



» «