Zapryanova Tabbed Second Team All-BIG EAST
Junior Vesela Zapryanova was named Second Team All-BIG EAST on Thursday

Nov. 15, 2012

PROVIDENCE, R.I. - Junior Vesela Zapryanova made a bit of DePaul volleyball history on Thursday, as the outside hitter garnered a Second Team All-BIG EAST selection. She is the first Blue Demon in program history to earn all-conference honors in the BIG EAST.

In a prolific first season in Lincoln Park, Zapryanova was nominated to All-Tournament Teams at the First State Skyhawk Invitational, Chicago Classic and Loyola Rambler Challenge early in the season.

A six spot player, and a big reason for DePaul's vast improvement in 2012, Zapryanova also received BIG EAST weekly honors on September 17 and November 12.

Her first weekly honor was the first for the program since Sarah Cullen earned BIG EAST weekly honors on October 13, 2008. The award came after helping DePaul to a 2-1 weekend at the Loyola Rambler Challenge, while Zapryanova's second selection was in response to her role in DePaul's first-ever 2-0 conference weekend.

For the season, Zapryanova led the Blue Demons in kills (350), kills per set (3.24), service aces (30), total attempts (1,013) and points (405.5). She played in 108 sets while also ranking third on the team in digs (265).

The Blue Demons finished the 2012 season 4-4 in their final eight matches and on Sunday earned a program record with their fifth BIG EAST victory of the fall. The team also reached double-digits in the overall win column for the first time since 2004.


BIG EAST Player of the Year
Lola Arslanbekova, Louisville, Sr., OH

BIG EAST Libero of the Year
Alyssa Warren, Seton Hall, Jr.

BIG EAST Freshman of the Year
Erin Fairs, USF, OH

BIG EAST Coaches of the Year
Anne Kordes, Louisville Holly Strauss-O'Brien, Connecticut




First Team
Toni Alugbue, Notre Dame, So., MB
Lola Arslanbekova, Louisville, Sr., OH *
Danielle Carlson, Marquette, Sr., MH
Jeni Houser, Notre Dame, So., RS
Elizabeth Koberstein, Marquette, Jr., S
Shelbey Manthorpe, Seton Hall, So., S
Holly Mertens, Marquette, Sr., RS *
Karin Palgutova, St. John's, Fr., OH
Mattison Quayle, Connecticut, Sr., OH
Gwen Rucker, Louisville, Sr., MH
Jordanne Scott, Cincinnati, Sr., MB/RS *
Kayla Walton, USF, Jr., RS

* - unanimous selection

Second Team
Maggie Brindock, Notre Dame, Jr., S
Erin Fairs, USF, Fr., OH
Emily Hayden, Cincinnati, Sr., MB/RS
Emily MacIntyre, Cincinnati, Jr., DS
Stacey Manthorpe, Seton Hall, So., OH/OPP
Brooke Mattingly, Louisville, Jr., MB
Becca Refenes, Cincinnati, Sr., MB
Silvi Uattara, Syracuse, Fr., OH
Alyssa Warren, Seton Hall, Jr., L
Caitlin Welch, Louisville, Jr., DS
Dani White, Georgetown, So., MB
Monica Wignot, Pittsburgh, Jr, OH
Vesela Zapryanova, DePaul, Jr., OH

Buy Tickets



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago



» «